

Distr.: General 26 August 2024

Original: English

Industrial Development Board Fifty-second session Vienna, 25–27 November 2024 Item 13 of the provisional agenda UNIDO Independent Oversight Advisory Committee

Membership of the Independent Oversight Advisory Committee

Note by the Secretariat

The present document proposes the appointment of a new member of the Independent Oversight Advisory Committee for a three-year term, in accordance with paragraph 8 of the revised terms of reference of the committee, as approved by the Board through decision IDB.48/Dec.5. It further proposes a non-exhaustive roster of candidates from States in List D to be considered for future vacancies on the committee.

I. Overview

1. The Independent Oversight Advisory Committee (OAC) is an advisory committee established pursuant to rule 63 of the rules of procedure of the Industrial Development Board to advise the Board and the Director General on issues within the OAC's mandate.

2. The OAC is comprised of at least three and no more than five members appointed by the Board. The current membership of the OAC is set out in the annex to this note.

3. By decision IDB.50/Dec.7, the Board appointed Ms. Sabina Blaskovic (Croatia) as a member of the OAC for a term of three years, from 23 November 2022, to 22 November 2025. Ms. Blaskovic informed the Director General of her resignation as a member of the committee on 2 February 2024, and the President of the Board on 12 February 2024.

For reasons of sustainability, this document has not been printed. Delegates are kindly requested to refer to electronic versions of all documents.



V.24-16931 (E) 270924 300924



Please recycle

II. Selection of new member of the Independent Oversight Advisory Committee

4. In keeping with paragraph 7 of the terms of reference of the committee, an open call for nominations for positions on the committee, which included the committee's terms of reference and the procedure for selection of candidates for membership of the committee, was issued to Permanent Missions on 28 March 2024, through information note No. 8. The call for nominations was also posted on the UNIDO website and other relevant social media channels.

5. A briefing for the President of the Board, held at UNIDO headquarters on 12 April 2024, recalled the selection procedures and discussed a proposed timeline for the selection of candidates.

6. In line with the selection procedures, a selection panel was established composed of the President of the Board and representatives of Permanent Missions appointed by the regional groups, as shown in the following table:

H.E. Mr. Magdi Ahmed Mofadal Elnour (Sudan)	Board President
Mr. Jamal Awad (Sudan)	African Group
Ms. Nidhi Dhiman (India)	Asia-Pacific Group
Mr. Michal Andrukonis (Poland)	States in List D

7. By the closing date for expressions of interest, four applications had been received. All candidates were evaluated against the following criteria: professional qualifications in audit, evaluation and investigation, as well as in areas related to oversight, risk management and managerial experience at a senior level; and organizational experience at international, United Nations and/or public or private sector organizations, including current or previous experience with and/or membership of oversight committees.

8. In its first meeting on 19 June 2024, the selection panel established a ranking of the candidates. Subsequent to discussions, the panel identified three top-ranked candidates from States in List D who were invited to an interview by the selection panel.

9. In line with paragraph 7 of the selection procedures, interviews took place in a virtual format on 11 July and 1 August 2024. Thereafter, the panel completed the selection and the list of recommended candidates was presented to the Enlarged Bureau of the Board at its meetings on 11 September and 16 October 2024.

10. Based on paragraph 7 of the terms of reference of the OAC and on paragraph 9 of the selection procedures, the following non-exhaustive list of possible candidates from States in List D for membership of the committee is hereby submitted on behalf of the Enlarged Bureau to the Board for its consideration:

Ms. Agnieszka Słomka-Gołębiowska (Poland)	States in List D
Ms. Elena Boytsova (Russian Federation)	States in List D
Mr. Henryk Stanisław Czubek (Poland)	States in List D

11. From the above list, the Enlarged Bureau recommends the following candidate for appointment to fill the current vacancy on the OAC:

Ms. Agnieszka Słomka-Gołębiowska (Poland) States in List D

12. The remaining two candidates are proposed for inclusion on the non-exhaustive roster of possible candidates from States in List D to be considered for future vacancies on the committee.

13. The relevant summary curricula vitae will be provided in conference room paper IDB.52/CRP.8.

14. As per paragraph 8 of the revised terms of reference of the OAC, the term of office of the new member will commence on the date of the Board's appointment. It will expire upon conclusion of the three-year term or upon the appointment (or reappointment) of a member at the fifty-fifth session of the Board, whichever is later.

III. Action required of the Board

15. The Board may wish to consider adopting the following draft decision:

"The Industrial Development Board:

(a) Took note of document IDB.52/23 on membership of the Independent Oversight Advisory Committee;

(b) In line with paragraph 8 of the revised terms of reference of the committee, appoints the following member to the committee for a term of three years, from 27 November 2024 to 26 November 2027, or until the appointment (or reappointment) of a member at the fifty-fifth session of the Board, whichever is later:

Ms. Agnieszka Słomka-Gołębiowska (Poland) States in List D

(c) Approves the following non-exhaustive roster of candidates from States in List D, to be considered in the given order, for future vacancies on the committee:

Ms. Elena Boytsova (Russian Federation)	States in List D
Mr. Henryk Stanisław Czubek (Poland)	States in List D"

Annex

Members of the Independent O Committee (As at 26 August 2024)	versight Advisory
Mr. Ibrahim James Pam (Nigeria) ¹	African Group
Ms. Susan Verghese (originally India; now United States of America) ¹	Asia-Pacific Group
Mr. Michael N. Parker (Jamaica) ²	GRULAC
Mr. Tuncay Efendioglu (Türkiye) ³	WEOG

¹ For a term of three years, from 26 November 2023 to 25 November 2026 (decision IDB.51/Dec.9 of 6 July 2023).

² For a term of two years, from 26 November 2023 to 25 November 2025 (decision IDB.51/Dec.9 of 6 July 2023).

³ For a term of three years, from 23 November 2022 to 22 November 2025 (decision IDB.50/Dec.7 of 23 November 2022).